Neat. Pictures. And some words.

I said I was gonna give ya pitchers, didn’t I?  Well, then shut your piehole and look at these gosh darn pitchers for cryin’ out loud.  I mean I took the time to carry not one, but two disposable cameras with me, in addition to my awesome cellphone camera, so the least you can do is look at them for gosh sakes. Geesh.

Ah, just another trip to Bally Total Fitness where I came across my favorite recumbent bike ridin’ black man wearing the thickest and fanciest cardio necklace. Ever.

I opted to not ask him for a photo during his most recent visit.

I opted to not ask him for a photo during his most recent visit.

CLICK ON ME BELOW

What goes better with a cardio workout than huge headphones, a thick necklace and a 2 liter bottle of orange Shasta? I say nothing.

What goes better with a cardio workout than huge headphones, a thick necklace and a 2 liter bottle of orange Shasta? I say nothing.

When it comes to eatin’ sammiches and deli type food in LA, I’ve had a bit of success at being able to belly up to some area tables and devour some tasty eats. In no particular order, I can say I’ve enjoyed my time spent at Canter’s Deli (a little pricey, but always good – potato pancake is top-notch), Bay Cities Deli (the Mother is my personal fave, but I think that’s what most folks go with – bumped into Cheech Marin here once when I was on a lunch run as a PA – pretty sure he was NOT stoned), Junior’s (close to my house – once sat in a booth across from Ernie Hudson and listened to him deliver sage advice to a young fella who’d just recently landed in LA via the same hometown as Ern – Benton Harbor, MI.  Any guy who’s got the range to go from playing the Heckler in “The Jazz Singer” to being cast in “Bosom Buddies” to busting ghosts with Bill Murray and Harold Ramis to running the Oswald Maximum Security Correctional Facility: Level Four – Emerald City, is gonna get my undivided attention, for sure), or Costello’s (burger joint owned by Asians I believe – who woulda thought the Ancient Chinese Secret applied to dry cleaning AND ground beef? It’s the double broiler they say – also got the best effin’ potato salad.  A nice Wall of Fame with a couple of sweet black and white photos of Angie Dickinson and Clint Eastwood too).

Well, one place I had not been to yet was a spot in Beverly Hills called Nate ‘n Al’s. So on Sunday, February 8th, I headed over there and got my eat on.  I was not to be disappointed because upon opening their huge menu, I came across one of my favorite things to consume.  Yoo-Hoo.  Yep, that kinda like milk, but it’s not really milk cause you don’t have to keep it refrigerated which is kinda weird, but I love it nonetheless, drink.  It’s gotta be the whey.

The last stop on the last day of my Week Off From Dieting So Eat Stuff You've Not Had In 3 Months Tour.

The last stop on the last day of my Week Off From Dieting So Eat Stuff You've Not Had In 3 Months Tour.

Heaven, I'm in heaven.

Heaven, I'm in heaven.

You've always gotta start the meal with some nice Kosher dills.

You've always gotta start the meal with some nice kosher dills.

If you ask me, the turkey reuben could have been a bit more stacked. But, hey, what do I know? I'm just a fat kid from a small town in OH trying to make a name for himself here in LA in this crazy, mixed up world of entertainment.  You know show biz.

If you ask me, the turkey reuben could have been a bit more stacked. But, hey, what do I know? I'm just a fat kid from a small town in OH trying to make a name for himself in this crazy, mixed up world of entertainment. You know, show biz.

It may be hard to believe, but I've always been a member of the Clean Platers Club.

It may be hard to believe, but I've always been a member of the Clean Platers Club.

On Friday, a couple days before this deli run, I discovered the best pizza joint in all of LA.  Seriously.  Not only does it beat Domino’s and Father Juan’s, but not even Pizza Hut and their Queen Latifah promoted P’Zones can top this place. My good friend Brian, of the bad tattoo post Brian and the Bridge Club Beatdown 2009 , knew of my desire to have some awesome pizza before beginning round two of my dieting so he told me of this place and accompanied me on this little voyage.  I was too focused on devouring my pie to even bother with photos, but suffice to say if you like a thinner NY style crust and enjoy your toppings a plenty, then this is the place for you.  Oh, 4 slices.  Destroyed.  And two Diet Cokes. Hey, gotta cut calories somewhere, right?

Best Pizza Pie in LA

During the day leading up to this glorious pizza parlor trip, I worked one last time on the Talkshow with Spike Feresten as the Lady Head character.  The wardrobe stylist was kind enough to snap a few shitty photos with my camera phone so I thought I’d share those with you right now.  Start lookin’ at ’em.  NOW!

Creepy?  Whaddya mean?  I thought I looked GORGEOUS.

Creepy? Whaddya mean? I thought I looked GORGEOUS.

Who woulda thought a medium heather grey shirt from Banana Republic would go so lovely with a flashy pair of mustard pants??

Who woulda thought a medium heather grey t-shirt from Banana Republic would go so well with some stylish mustard pants?

The final edited sketch aired this past Saturday night.  Here’s a link, in case you were busy with your Valentine that eve, and missed it.  

Okay, a couple things: 1) Yes, the Mom jeans are mine. Levi’s – Easy Fit – size 46. and 2) My man mammaries were enhanced. Silicone inserts – lots of really sticky tape – and a little Movie Magic.  Looking good.  Feeling good.  Welcome to Hollywood.

Two Saturday nights ago, following my friend Brian’s Krav Maga fight at the Santa Monica’s Women’s Club where he fought his heart out, but unfortunately lost to a heavier and more seasoned opponent, we headed over to Main Street in Santa Monica and did a little drinkin’.  

s if she wasn't already smitten with me upon hearing me talk about my Smog Inspection failing Toyota Corolla, the hot bartender was putty in my hands after I handed her my TV Guide Emmy Party disposable camera and asked her to capture this group photo.

As if she wasn't already smitten with me upon hearing me talk about my Smog Inspection failing Toyota Corolla, the hot bartender was putty in my hands after I handed her my TV Guide Emmy Party disposable camera and asked her to capture this group photo.

Doesn't look too bad and in pretty good spirits for a guy who received seven stitches above his left eye a few minutes earlier, huh?

Doesn't look too bad and is in pretty good spirits for a guy who, mere minutes earlier, received seven stitches above his left eye.

We came across this gem at stop #2.  Please keep in mind it's about 1 AM at this point and it's completely dark outside.

We came across this gem at stop #2. Please keep in mind it's about 1 AM at this point and it's completely dark outside.

It's not everyday that I'm out with a cat who drives a Chevy Corvette, so I kindly asked Brian to make fun of, I mean pose, in front of this guy's car.

It's not everyday that I'm out with a cat who seriously drives a Chevy Corvette, so I kindly asked Brian to make fun of, I mean pose, in front of Masshole's car.

I got a haircut on Sunday (the one a couple days ago) and it’s always good times at Reeder’s Barbershop. This day was no exception, as we conducted a little photo shoot around the shop.

Parting it down the middle does cover up the receding hairline, but it's a little high maintenance for me and may necessitate the purchasing of a hair dryer to get the butt cutt just right.

Parting it down the middle does cover up the receding hairline, but it's a little too high maintenance for me and may necessitate the purchasing of a hair dryer to get the butt cut just right.

007_7_1

Uh, yeah I like the Stones. You gotta a problem with that?

008_8_1

You have to start ME up. You have to start ME up cause I never stop.

009_9_1

Who the hell's this guy think he is? All retirin' again and shit.

010_10_1

Seriously? You would want this guy on da Bears? Not me pal.

I tell ya.  Some days I wish I could just go back to those years in the late 80s, when I entrusted my hair to a barber named Jerry Mesbarger at The Hair Shoppe, and get the ole flat top again. Man, was that a solid look or what?  I had the ladies beggin’, flat out beggin’.

At Freshman Orientation..... From Lancaster, OH..... Weighing in at a svelte 168 lbs, with 4 oz. of that being Crew Comb hair product..... JOHN DAVID MAHOLMMMMMMMM

At Freshman Orientation..... From Lancaster, OH..... Weighing in at a svelte 168 lbs, with 4 oz. of that being Crew Comb hair product..... JOHN DAVID MAHOLMMMMMMMM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Boot Camp 2009

One response to “Neat. Pictures. And some words.

  1. Kipp

    Shasta, isn’t that one of them fancy energy drinks?

Leave a Reply

